Australia Tour of India 2023: As India name T20 star in squad for Aussie Tests

Suryakumar Yadav, the white-ball sensation, has been included to India’s 17-man team for the first two games of the keenly anticipated four-match series next month, setting up a potential Test match with Australia.

Jasprit Bumrah, a star pace bowler who may not be ready for the next two games of the series, has been left out of the squad along with another limited-overs weapon, Ishan Kishan.

The following players will represent India in the first two Test matches: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed

As long as Ravindra Jadeja is cleared to play again following his own injury issues, he will return for the beginning of the Border-Gavaskar series on February 9.

While the Indian Board has only named the squad for the first part of the series, and selectors will certainly re-evaluate after the initial two matches in Nagpur and Delhi, Rohit Sharma will lead a potent side with Virat Kohli also serving as a spearhead.

Bumrah’s absence is a serious setback for the hosts. He had hoped to be back in action following a back issue, but he has been told to recover for another month before it is decided whether to use him in the next two Test matches in March in Dharamsala and Ahmedabad.

Jadeja hasn’t played cricket since having knee surgery in August of last year, but he still appears to be one With a top order that includes Sharma, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, and Shreyas Iyer—even without the injured Rishabh Pant—it is still unclear whether the late-blooming 32-year-old Suryakumar will even make the starting XI India Squad.

The evergreen 36-year-old Ravichandran Ashwin will be the key spinner, assisted by Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav. Mohammed Shami, who earned his reputation on the 20220-21 visit to Australia, will spearhead India’s attack. Mohammed Siraj, who also played on that trip, will support them. of the primary factors in India’s success.

February 9-13: First Test, Nagpur, 3pm AEDT

February 17-21: Second Test, Delhi, 3pm AEDT

March 1-5: Third Test, Dharamsala, 3pm AEDT

March 9-13: Fourth Test, Ahmedabad, 3pm AEDT

Related Articles